top of page
Search

Trail Talk - Gauley River

It’s been a few weeks since I’ve posted here, but it doesn’t mean I haven’t been out galavanting around. A few years ago, I started an unofficial list of places I wanted to check out, but have always been busy doing other things and hiking the same old places. Last year, I began to slowly start visiting some of these places. Once the pandemic broke and social distancing was put into place, I decided to officially start in on knocking some of those places off.


On that unofficial list is a place called Panther Mountain. It’s location is in Nicholas County and leads down into the Gauley River National Recreation Area. This area serves as a river access & boat launching site, if you’re into that kind of thing. Hiking is scarce in the GRNRA, with only one actual trail that I’m aware of sitting on the Fayette County side of the river. That’ll be a story for another day.


While hiking trails may be scarce in this area, it certainly makes up for it in unique sites, beautiful river views, fishing, boating, and in this spot a lovely waterfall. One of the most unique sites on the road is an old country church by the name of Arnet Methodist Church. Outside of it being built in 1903, I haven’t been able to find information on the church. It’s a single room church with no electricity, running water, and a outhouse. One can only imagine the old country services that once occurred inside of that building.



”Respect: Lack of will cost you more then you can pay!!”


Arnet Methodist Church.


Continuing down the road, you won’t find much else, except farmland, woodland, and a camping ground, until you reach the Gauley River access point. From here, you can enjoy the sites, explore a little of the area, or sit by a beautiful waterfall. This waterfall is a little hidden from plain site, but there’s no doubt you’ll hear it when the water is really flowing.



Tributary to the Gauley River



I hope you all are doing well and staying safe. Until next time, I’ll see you on the SouthSide!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Trail Talk and the Coronavirus

Happy Thursday, friends! I hope you all are fairing well. Today’s Trail Talk is going to focus on something that has been weighing on me a little. When I began to consider this blog, we weren’t on a g

bottom of page